Ivanovo Rock Churches – city of Ruse
The rock monastery “St. Archangel Michael” is situated 22 km from Ruse, in close proximity to the village of Ivanovo, within the borders of Natural Park “Rusenski Lom”. An asphalted road with designative board signs leads to the complex, and there is a parking lot at the foot of the rocks. A stair system in the rocks provides access for visitors to the various churches and chapels in the region.
The monastery was founded in the 1220s by the monk Yoakim, who later became a Bulgarian patriarch. The Bulgarian tsars Yoan Asen ІІ (1218-1241), Yoan Alexander (1331-1371) and other representatives of the royal court, were among the monastery donators, and their donor’s portrait are preserved to the present day.
The monastery joins a number of complexes of rock premises. Wall-paintings which show the specifics of Bulgarian church art in the 13th – 14th century are preserved in six of the temples. During the Second Bulgarian Empire (12th – 14th century) the monastery was established as a great spiritual and educational center. Wall inscriptions in the cells provide information about important historical events.
The wall paintings in the church “St. Mary” are world famous. They are among the most representative models of Paleologus Art on the Balkan Peninsula. Their exceptional artistic qualities are the reason for their inclusion by UNESCO in the list of the global cultural inheritance.
In the 14th century the monastery become a center of hesychasm – a mystic trend in Orthodox Christianity. The Ivanovo Rock Complex had also existed during the early ages of the Ottoman Dominion, but it had gradually declined.
In 1978 it was declared a National Archaeological Reservation. Nowadays the monastery is not active.
Information materials and souvenirs are sold in the complex.
|Ivanovo Rock Churches – city of Ruse|
1 April – 30 November:
9.00 am – 6.00 pm
works every day
1 December – 31 March
the site is closed for visits, and opens only upon a preliminary request
For organized groups (more than 5 people) - BGN 3.00 per person
For individual tourists - BGN 4.00 per person
For school students, university students, seniors – BGN 1.00
Price for guided tours in Bulgarian language: BGN 4.00
(for the entire group)
|RECOMMENDED TO SEE||All|
History Museum, town of Batak
The History Museum in Batak was established in 1956. The museum complex covers the museum building, the historical ossuary church “St. ...
The municipality of Strumyani, by virtue of its territorial manufacturing, territorial servicing functions and the level of building of the ...
Medieval Fortress near the village of Mezek
Near the village of Mezek (Svilengrad Municipality), on the Kaleto hill stand the ruins of a medieval Byzantine fortress from the end of the ...
Banya (Karlovo Mineral Baths)
Banya is a town in Southern Bulgaria. It is located in the municipality of Karlovo and county of Plovdiv, in the fertile sub-Balkan Karlovo ...
Dzhumaya Mosque – Plovdiv
Dzhumaya Mosque is the main Muslim temple in Plovdiv. Its Turkish name is Hüdavendigâr Camii or Cuma Camii. The mosque is ...