Text version
St. Nicholas Convent, Arbanasi Village

St. Nicholas Convent, Arbanasi Village

St. Nicholas Convent is located in a small valley in the southwestern part of Arbanasi Village, 5 km away from Veliko Tarnovo. The monastery was founded in the 13th century. It was demolished in 1393 when Tarnovo was conquered by the Ottomans. The monastery was renovated in 1680. It was then when the present-day church and St. Elijah Chapel, whose wall-paintings are preserved to this day, were built.
In the 19th century the Monastery of Arbanasi was transformed into a convent and Teodora Hristova of Tarnovo became its first hegumenia. In the 1860s 40 nuns inhabited the monastery, and although it was a convent it was often visited by fighters for the liberation of Bulgaria from the Ottoman rule.
During the Russo-Turkish War (1877-1878) Russian military units were quartered in Arbanasi Village and they received help from the nuns of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker Convent. As a token of gratitude Russia donated an iconostasis to the convent. Many of the icons were also offered as gifts by Russian soldiers.
After the Liberation of Bulgaria (1878) the Monastery of Arbanasi began to decline and in 1913 all of its buildings except for the church were destroyed in an earthquake.
Later they were rebuilt.
St. Nicholas Convent is still a functioning convent even today. It consists of a church, dorters, and a chapel.
A miracle-working icon of the Virgin Mary is kept at St. Nicholas Church. According to legends this icon helps women who want to get pregnant. Women who want to become mothers must perform the following ritual: after they have finished their prayer to the Virgin Mary they have to put a coin on the icon. If it sticks to the icon, then the Virgin Mary will hear their prayers. If it falls, the wish to get pregnant will not come true.
The patron saint’s day of the monastery is celebrated on 6 December (St. Nicholas’ Day).
Information materials and souvenirs are sold in the monastery. Accommodation is also available.


Pictures All
St. Nicholas Convent, Arbanasi Village St. Nicholas Convent, Arbanasi Village St. Nicholas Convent, Arbanasi Village St. Nicholas Convent, Arbanasi Village St. Nicholas Convent, Arbanasi Village
Opening hours

Opening hours:

Summer (as of day-savings time): from 8.00 am to 8.00 pm.
Winter (as of the switch to Standard Time): from 8.00 am to 5.00 pm.

A tour around the convent and a lecture given in Bulgarian – BGN 2.

Accommodation: BGN 20 per person

Accommodation for groups of more than 4 people: BGN 15 per person

Contacts

Veliko Tarnovo Metropolia
Tel: +359 62 625770

 

St. Nicholas Convent
Tel: +359 650345,
Tel: +359 896687410

e-mail: manastir@svnikolai-chudotvorec.com
Website: www.svnikolai-chudotvorec.com

Recommended to see All
Architecture and Museum Reserve Tsarevets, Veliko Tarnovo Architecture and Museum Reserve Tsarevets, Veliko Tarnovo

Architectural and Museum Reserve Tsarevets is one of the most frequ...

Veliko Tarnovo Veliko Tarnovo

Veliko Tarnovo is a town situated in North Bulgaria, an administrat...

The Arbanasi Archeological Reserve The Arbanasi Archeological Reserve

The village of Arbanasi is located on a high plateau 4 km from the ...

Antique Military Camp Nove, town of Svishtov Antique Military Camp Nove, town of Svishtov

The remains of the Roman Legion Camp Novae are situated 3 km east o...

Town of Elena Town of Elena

The town of Elena is situated in the high parts of the North Balkan...