Dragalevski Monastery “St. Mary”.
Near the Dragalevtsi residential area of Sofia, about 1.5 kilometers southwest is the Dragalevski monastery “St. Mary of Vitosha”. It was established by Tsar Ivan Alexander (ruled 1331 – 1371 AD) in about 1341 and remained after the Ottoman conquest in 1382. The monastery church was renovated and painted in 1476.
The monastery complex consists of a church, residential buildings, and outbuildings. In the 17th century, it also had a monastery school. The monastery had provided refuge for the revolutionist Vasil Levski (1837 – 1873).
The monastery was declared a cultural monument. The library holds its early liturgical books and a manuscript of the 4th Gospel of 1534 AD. 15 August – the day of the Virgin Mary was chosen for a memorial day.
© All images, advertising and video materials and/or other information published on this website are property of the Ministry of Tourism and are protected by the Law on Copyright and Related Rights, according to the Bulgarian laws to all applicable international and relevant acts of the European Union.