Holy Trinity Orthodox Church, Alfatar
The Holy Trinity Christian Church has been a cultural monument since 29. The church was built in 1846 and is a stone building with three naves and an apse on the east wall. At its western entrance is a small shed – a lodge for storing the temple icon. Such architectural additions to the facade are not common in our church architecture, which determines the uniqueness of the site. The decoration of the walls, divided by many blind arches, is remarkable. It has been established that under the current plaster there are unique in nature and workmanship frescoes, which were closed during the plastering of the walls after the burning of the building in the second half of the XIX century. The carved decorations on the throne and on the door of the iconostasis also attract attention. The church preserves original icons from the Tryavna school of the painters Dosyu Kosyuv and Angel Dosyuv – 1846: an icon of the Mother of God, of St. Trinity, St. Dimitar, St. Charalambius and John the Forerunner
© All images, advertising and video materials and/or other information published on this website are property of the Ministry of Tourism and are protected by the Law on Copyright and Related Rights, according to the Bulgarian laws to all applicable international and relevant acts of the European Union.